Shakespeare Lives!

Unless you’ve been living in a cupboard for the last year, you’ll have noticed that Shakespeare has been having a bit of a moment …

The Bard’s 400 year anniversary celebrations have been great news for fans of theatre and literature. They’ve also been good news for English teachers: it’s never been easier to source good quality (and often free) resources for teaching Shakespeare.

In my next blog post, I’ll be looking at some of the best Shakespeare related resources. In the meantime, here’s a video of my recent plenary session at the recent 2016 ETAS Professional Development Day, in which I attempt to answer the question: “What’s Shakespeare got to do with 21st century language teaching?”.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shakespeare Lives!

  1. Jim Hjaltland says:

    Wow. Light on facts heavy on poetic licence. “I’m from Shetland” You live there yes but you come from the mainland of Scotland I think….. “January in Shetland is dark, very, very, very dark, in fact there is hardly any light”, (Wrong again you are talking about the North of Norway not Shetland) “There are winds, very strong gale force winds every day”. (Simply not true. it is a windy place but there are not very strong gale force winds every day). “If you look around you everybody’s faces, everybody’s skin is the colour of old, cold, porridge because we haven’t seen the sun in months and we know we are not going to see the sun for a few more months because the winters are very long…” (Some Shetlanders might rightly feel offended by this one, who wants to hear that their face looks like old, cold porridge? What about the sun? Many folk can show you photos of the sun shining on many days in January). Come on Genevieve you know this is rubbish, are you just looking for a laugh at Shetland’s expense? I sincerely hope not as Shetland is your adopted home. Pity you just fell for the old stereotype that Shetland is awful, how much better if you had talked about the warm community which has welcomed you Sad 😦

    • joco75 says:

      Hi Jim,
      I’m sorry if my comments have caused you offence. Yes, of course there was loads of poetic licence in there (it was a talk on Shakespeare, after all!) – I don’t think that anyone present thought I was speaking factually! In fact, after the talk, and for the rest of that day, several people approached me saying how much they would love to visit Shetland – so I don’t think anything I said could have been all that off-putting. It’s a pity that there is no film evidence of me telling these people what a wonderful place Shetland is to visit and to live (which I can assure you I did).
      The opening preamble was meant to be a joke – certainly not at Shetland’s expense though. I feel it was more in the tradition of Scottish self-deprecation, and I apologise if it did not come across this way.
      I make no secret of the fact I struggle with the cold, wet, windy dark winters. It’s the one thing I find really hard about life here. And – facts aside – to me, the dark does seem intense. As for everyone’s skin being the colour of porridge – well, this was perhaps a joke at my own expense more than anyone else’s as I get so peely wally in the winter months.
      If you look elsewhere on this blog, you’ll find loads of very positive observations about Shetland and life here. I love living in Shetland and the wonderful community here has managed to pull me through each one of those dark and windy winters so far.
      I consider Shetland to be my home, as I have now lived here for twelve years – longer than I’ve lived in any other place. My children were born here, and we feel very much part of the community. I’ve never been made to feel otherwise.

  2. Jim Hjaltland says:

    Thanks for your reply. Well done for putting Shetland out there, albeit in a round-a-bout way. Glad you were able to answer folks’ questions off camera. So not all bad. Like the Shakespeare stuff.

Leave a Reply

